• Location: Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
  • from your home
  • Berkeley, California 94720
  • Phone: (510) 642-0808
May 11 2020
recurring event

Off the Shelves: Digitizing Filmmaker Recordings

Curious about hearing one of David Lynch’s first live Q&A’s for Eraserhead? Wondering what unscripted moments Pauline Kael shared with a hometown audience? Intrigued to sit in on a 1976 panel with Ousmane Sembene, a giant of Senegalese cinema, translated by none other than the legendary political activist Angela Davis? Thanks to a generous grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR), these rare moments—and many more—can now be shared and made accessible to the public. Through the project, “Saving Film Exhibition History: Digitizing Recordings of Guest Speakers at the Pacific Film Archive, 1976 to 1986,” BAMPFA is digitizing a decade’s worth of guest-speaker recordings, filmmaker presentations, panel discussions, and Q&A’s from the early years of the Pacific Film Archive (1976–86), and making them available online through the Internet Archive.
Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Wednesday, May 27
  • Thursday, May 28
  • Friday, May 29
  • Saturday, May 30
  • Sunday, May 31
  • Monday, June 1
  • Tuesday, June 2
  • Wednesday, June 3
  • Thursday, June 4
  • Friday, June 5
Related Partners