• 1931 Center Street
  • Berkeley, California
Jan 22 2021
recurring event

Virtual Exhibit: Berkeley’s Fascination with Food

Welcome to the Berkeley Historical Society’s first online exhibit, “Berkeley’s Fascination with Food,” created by a team of volunteers during the pandemic of 2020.

The history of food in Berkeley brings up a lot of different ideas in different people: Chez Panisse and the “Gourmet Ghetto,” of course. Celebrity chefs and food writers. Nostalgia about restaurants of the past. Our wonderful farmers’ markets and produce stores, and the evolution—often called a revolution—in what Americans eat. The emergence of fast-casual dining, upscale food trucks, and a rich abundance of ethnic food choices. Looking back to the nineteenth century: the farms, ranches, and orchards that originally dominated the Berkeley landscape. Looking way back, how the indigenous Ohlone people ate before the Europeans arrived. So much to explore!
Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Sunday, March 7 to Friday, May 14
  • Monday, March 8 to Saturday, May 15
  • Tuesday, March 9 to Sunday, May 16
  • Wednesday, March 10 to Monday, May 17
  • Thursday, March 11 to Tuesday, May 18
  • Friday, March 12 to Wednesday, May 19
  • Saturday, March 13 to Thursday, May 20
  • Sunday, March 14 to Friday, May 21
  • Monday, March 15 to Saturday, May 22
  • Tuesday, March 16 to Sunday, May 23
  • Wednesday, March 17 to Monday, May 24
  • Thursday, March 18 to Tuesday, May 25
  • Friday, March 19 to Wednesday, May 26
  • Saturday, March 20 to Thursday, May 27
  • Sunday, March 21 to Friday, May 28
  • Monday, March 22 to Saturday, May 29
  • Tuesday, March 23 to Sunday, May 30
  • Wednesday, March 24 to Monday, May 31
  • Thursday, March 25 to Tuesday, June 1
  • Friday, March 26 to Wednesday, June 2
  • Saturday, March 27 to Thursday, June 3
  • Sunday, March 28 to Friday, June 4
  • Monday, March 29 to Saturday, June 5
  • Tuesday, March 30 to Sunday, June 6
  • Wednesday, March 31 to Monday, June 7
Related Partners