• Location: Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
  • 2155 Center Street
  • Berkeley, California 94720
  • Time:
    11:00 AM to 7:00 PM
  • Phone: (510) 642-0808

Sylvia Fein / MATRIX 275

Sylvia Fein, who turns 100 in 2019, was born and raised in Wisconsin, where she attended college with another woman who would go on to become a legendary Bay Area centenarian, Anna Halprin. In the early 1940s Fein was among a group of artists based in Madison and Milwaukee who became known as the Midwest Surrealists. After living in Mexico for several years during World War II, Fein moved to the East Bay in 1947; she received an MFA at UC Berkeley in 1951. For decades, her painting has been strongly influenced by the highly detailed style of Northern Renaissance painters such as Hieronymus Bosch and by the fourteenth-century medium of egg tempera, which endows her works with a distinctive texture and transparent quality.
Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Friday, May 1
  • Saturday, May 2
  • Sunday, May 3
  • Wednesday, May 6
  • Thursday, May 7
  • Friday, May 8
  • Saturday, May 9
  • Sunday, May 10
  • Wednesday, May 13
  • Thursday, May 14
  • Friday, May 15
  • Saturday, May 16
  • Sunday, May 17
  • Wednesday, May 20
  • Thursday, May 21
  • Friday, May 22
  • Saturday, May 23
  • Sunday, May 24
  • Wednesday, May 27
  • Thursday, May 28
  • Friday, May 29
  • Saturday, May 30
  • Sunday, May 31
  • Wednesday, June 3
  • Thursday, June 4
  • Friday, June 5
  • Saturday, June 6
  • Sunday, June 7
  • Wednesday, June 10
  • Thursday, June 11
  • Friday, June 12
  • Saturday, June 13
  • Sunday, June 14
  • Wednesday, June 17
  • Thursday, June 18
  • Friday, June 19
  • Saturday, June 20
  • Sunday, June 21
  • Wednesday, June 24
  • Thursday, June 25
  • Friday, June 26
  • Saturday, June 27
  • Sunday, June 28
  • Wednesday, July 1
  • Thursday, July 2
  • Friday, July 3
  • Saturday, July 4
  • Sunday, July 5
  • Wednesday, July 8
  • Thursday, July 9
  • Friday, July 10
  • Saturday, July 11
  • Sunday, July 12
  • Wednesday, July 15
  • Thursday, July 16
  • Friday, July 17
  • Saturday, July 18
  • Sunday, July 19
  • Wednesday, July 22
  • Thursday, July 23
  • Friday, July 24
  • Saturday, July 25
  • Sunday, July 26
  • Wednesday, July 29
  • Thursday, July 30
  • Friday, July 31
  • Saturday, August 1
  • Sunday, August 2
  • Wednesday, August 5
  • Thursday, August 6
  • Friday, August 7
  • Saturday, August 8
  • Sunday, August 9
  • Wednesday, August 12
  • Thursday, August 13
  • Friday, August 14
  • Saturday, August 15
  • Sunday, August 16
  • Wednesday, August 19
  • Thursday, August 20
  • Friday, August 21
  • Saturday, August 22
  • Sunday, August 23
  • Wednesday, August 26
  • Thursday, August 27
  • Friday, August 28
  • Saturday, August 29
  • Sunday, August 30
  • Wednesday, September 2
  • Thursday, September 3
  • Friday, September 4
  • Saturday, September 5
  • Sunday, September 6
  • Wednesday, September 9
  • Thursday, September 10
  • Friday, September 11
  • Saturday, September 12
  • Sunday, September 13
  • Wednesday, September 16
  • Thursday, September 17
  • Friday, September 18
  • Saturday, September 19
  • Sunday, September 20
  • Wednesday, September 23
  • Thursday, September 24
  • Friday, September 25
  • Saturday, September 26
  • Sunday, September 27
  • Wednesday, September 30
  • Thursday, October 1
  • Friday, October 2
  • Saturday, October 3
  • Sunday, October 4
Related Partners