• 2155 Center Street
  • Berkeley, California
  • Time:
    11:00 AM to 5:00 PM
  • Phone: 510 642 0808
Apr 30 2021
recurring event

BAMPFA Exhibit - Beyond Boundaries: Buddhist Art of Gandhara

Beyond Boundaries: Buddhist Art of Gandhara

April 30–October 3, 2021

The Gandharan region of northern India served as a crossroads of power, culture, and Buddhist art from the second to ninth centuries CE. Presenting rare images of the Buddha and his life story, this exhibition demonstrates through thirty-six sculptural examples from public and private collections the important cultural exchanges between the Hellenistic world of Greek and Roman art and the native artistic traditions of India. Artisans of this region took a new, humanistic approach to depicting the Buddha in clothing and settings drawn from the West and combined them with descriptive tales of the life and teachings of the Buddha. This is the first substantial exhibition focusing on Gandharan Buddhist art in an American museum in ten years and, as such, brings new scholarship and understanding to the field.

Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Friday, August 6
  • Saturday, August 7
  • Sunday, August 8
  • Friday, August 13
  • Saturday, August 14
  • Sunday, August 15
  • Friday, August 20
  • Saturday, August 21
  • Sunday, August 22
  • Friday, August 27
  • Saturday, August 28
  • Sunday, August 29
  • Friday, September 3
  • Saturday, September 4
  • Sunday, September 5
  • Friday, September 10
  • Saturday, September 11
  • Sunday, September 12
  • Friday, September 17
  • Saturday, September 18
  • Sunday, September 19
  • Friday, September 24
  • Saturday, September 25
  • Sunday, September 26
  • Friday, October 1
  • Saturday, October 2
Related Partners