• Location: BAMPFA
  • 2155 Center Street
  • Berkeley, CA 94704
Jan 12 2022
recurring event

BAMPFA Exhibit- Spiritual Mountains: The Art of Wesley Tongson

Spiritual Mountains debuts a recent gift to BAMPFA of eleven paintings by the Hong Kong artist Wesley Tongson (1957–2012). His work draws heavily on traditional Chinese painting techniques and processes, including painting with his fingers and hands, but takes these a step further to create a personal expression that is wholly his own. This exhibition combines Tongson’s works with historic paintings from BAMPFA’s extensive Chinese painting collection to demonstrate the relationship between his genius and that of past masters. Throughout Tongson’s practice, we perceive a strong admiration and acknowledgement of the past, even as he pursued a new direction in his own work. It is in his highly lyrical brushwork and exuberant style of painting—which included large-scale landscapes and intricately patterned, dense examinations of the natural world—that we comprehend his range and genius.

Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Sunday, January 23
  • Wednesday, January 26
  • Thursday, January 27
  • Friday, January 28
  • Saturday, January 29
  • Sunday, January 30
  • Wednesday, February 2
  • Thursday, February 3
  • Friday, February 4
  • Saturday, February 5
  • Sunday, February 6
  • Wednesday, February 9
  • Thursday, February 10
  • Friday, February 11
  • Saturday, February 12
  • Sunday, February 13
  • Wednesday, February 16
  • Thursday, February 17
  • Friday, February 18
  • Saturday, February 19
  • Sunday, February 20
  • Wednesday, February 23
  • Thursday, February 24
  • Friday, February 25
  • Saturday, February 26
  • Sunday, February 27
  • Wednesday, March 2
  • Thursday, March 3
  • Friday, March 4
  • Saturday, March 5
  • Sunday, March 6
  • Wednesday, March 9
  • Thursday, March 10
  • Friday, March 11
  • Saturday, March 12
  • Sunday, March 13
  • Wednesday, March 16
  • Thursday, March 17
  • Friday, March 18
  • Saturday, March 19
  • Sunday, March 20
  • Wednesday, March 23
  • Thursday, March 24
  • Friday, March 25
  • Saturday, March 26
  • Sunday, March 27
  • Wednesday, March 30
  • Thursday, March 31
  • Friday, April 1
  • Saturday, April 2
  • Sunday, April 3
  • Wednesday, April 6
  • Thursday, April 7
  • Friday, April 8
  • Saturday, April 9
  • Sunday, April 10
  • Wednesday, April 13
  • Thursday, April 14
  • Friday, April 15
  • Saturday, April 16
  • Sunday, April 17
  • Wednesday, April 20
  • Thursday, April 21
  • Friday, April 22
  • Saturday, April 23
  • Sunday, April 24
  • Wednesday, April 27
  • Thursday, April 28
  • Friday, April 29
  • Saturday, April 30
  • Sunday, May 1
  • Wednesday, May 4
  • Thursday, May 5
  • Friday, May 6
  • Saturday, May 7
  • Sunday, May 8
  • Wednesday, May 11
  • Thursday, May 12
  • Friday, May 13
  • Saturday, May 14
  • Sunday, May 15
  • Wednesday, May 18
  • Thursday, May 19
  • Friday, May 20
  • Saturday, May 21
  • Sunday, May 22
  • Wednesday, May 25
  • Thursday, May 26
  • Friday, May 27
  • Saturday, May 28
  • Sunday, May 29
  • Wednesday, June 1
  • Thursday, June 2
  • Friday, June 3
  • Saturday, June 4
  • Sunday, June 5
  • Wednesday, June 8
  • Thursday, June 9
  • Friday, June 10
  • Saturday, June 11
  • Sunday, June 12
Related Partners