• Admission: Tickets start at $58
  • Location: Zellerbach Hall
  • 101 Zellerbach Hall
  • CA, Berkeley 94720
  • Time:
    5:00 PM to 7:00 PM

This event has expired and is here for your reference.

Mar 26 2023

Zurich Chamber Orchestra

A venerated 75-year-old music institution meets one of the most distinctive compositional voices in contemporary music when the Zurich Chamber Orchestra visits with selections from Max Richter’s marvelous Recomposed project. Conducting from the violin, Daniel Hope leads the orchestra in Richter’s cleverly reimagined versions of Vivaldi’s timeless The Four Seasons. Richter’s “intriguing and imaginative” (The Guardian) score de- and re-constructs Vivaldi with inspiration drawn from electronic and club music, minimalist concert music, and recording studio techniques, creating a musical universe both familiar and strikingly fresh that has been a huge hit with audiences. Complementing Richter’s Vivaldi odyssey, the accomplished Zurich players also perform two timeless works for string orchestra—Elgar’s exhilarating Introduction and Allegro and Mendelssohn’s lively D minor violin concerto.

This performance is made possible, in part, by Jerome and Thao Dodson.

Run time for this concert is approximately 2 hours, including intermission, but not including any possible encores.

Related Partners